So you want to know how to delete a Skype account? There are many reasons you may have come to this decision. Maybe you don’t like your username, have someone stalking you, or are just trying to get rid of your Skype account. The process for getting deleting a Skype account has never been a straightforward one so it isn’t a hard to get lost in the process.
Visit The Skype Website
The first step in the process is to visit the skype website. Here is the URL directly to the part of the website where you can initiate the process of closing your account: https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA142/how-do-i-close-my-skype-account?frompage=search&q=delete+account&fromSearchFirstPage=false .
Select Why You Are Looking To Close Your Account
Skype has provided a list of reasons for why you may wish to close your account. When you select one you will be given alternatives to closing your account. Feel free to explore these alternatives as you might find an option that works for you.
If the reason that you want to close your account isn’t listed or you want to skip the delay tactics that Skype uses, select other. If you think that you may have an issue that can be resolved without closing your account, the other option provides you the link to the Skype Community, a forum network where you can get community-based support.
Click Contact Customer Service Or Close Account
Each list item on the page to close your skype account phrases the option a little differently but the next step is to click the link that either says something along the lines of “I’m ready to close my account”. For the other section, the option is labeled as being contact customer service.
Log-In To Your Skype Account for Security
The next step of closing your account is to log-in. Skype requires users to log-in prior to deleting accounts so that the feature cannot be used maliciously. Use the username and password you would use to log into the desktop or phone app.
Confirm That You Want To Delete Your Skype Account
The Skype website will continue to guide you through the process of closing your account. The process involves confirming that you want to delete your account. Once you confirm that you want to delete your account it is important to remember that all of your information such as contacts, purchases, and history will be deleted from the system.
A Few Things To Consider
As mentioned above, all of the information for your Skype account will be deleted. This includes contacts that you may have stored information for in the program. You can export your contacts before deleting your account so that you can save the contacts on your phone or computer. Do this before you delete your account so that you do not lose your information.
You can change your Skype display name from inside the program. By clicking on your display name you can change what it says. This prevents you from needing to worry about not liking your name. Wanting to change the screen name for a Skype account is one of the number one reasons people try to close their account. You can give users your phone number or email address to find your account too so you don’t need to worry about your friends being able to find your account if you choose a name you no longer like.
Deleting your Skype account does not remove the app from your computer or your phone. To do this you will have to uninstall the program if you are on a computer via the uninstall a program feature. On a phone, you will have to delete the app using the method that you would use for any other app. It is important to note that some phone manufacturers pre-install Skype on your device and it may not be able to be removed.
The process of deleting a Skype account has changed over the years. It has finally become more user-friendly but that is not saying much as people still often search for how to delete a Skype account. Remember that once your Skype account is deleted you will no longer be able to retrieve it. Deleting your account is a permanent action.